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Health Professions 

Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) citation(s)  

18VAC30-20-10 et seq. 

18VAC30-21-10 et seq. 

Regulation title(s) Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology & Speech-Language 
Pathology 

Action title Periodic review – promulgation of Chapter 21 

Date this document 
prepared 

2/24/16 

 
This information is required for executive branch review and the Virginia Registrar of Regulations, pursuant to the 
Virginia Administrative Process Act (APA), Executive Orders 17 (2014) and 58 (1999), and the Virginia Register 
Form, Style, and Procedure Manual. 
 

 

Brief summary  
 

 

Please provide a brief summary of the proposed new regulation, proposed amendments to the existing 
regulation, or the regulation proposed to be repealed.  Alert the reader to all substantive matters or 
changes.  If applicable, generally describe the existing regulation.   
              

 

The Board has repealed Chapter 20 and adopted a revised set of regulations in Chapter 21 to 

reorganize sections and provisions more logically and with more clarity.  Revisions to current 

regulations include: 1) a change in continuing competency requirements from 30 hours within 

two years to 10 hours annually, offered by an approved sponsor or provider; 2) less burdensome 

rules for re-entry into practice; 3) elimination of barriers to provisional licensure; and 4) more 

explicit rules for patient confidentiality, maintenance of records and violations of professional 

boundaries. 
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Acronyms and Definitions  
 

 

Please define all acronyms used in the Agency Background Document.  Also, please define any technical 
terms that are used in the document that are not also defined in the “Definition” section of the regulations. 
              

 

ASHA = American Speech-Language-Hearing Association 

 

SHAV= Speech-Language-Hearing Association of Virginia 

 

SLP=Speech-Language Pathologist 
 

 

Statement of final agency action 
 

 

Please provide a statement of the final action taken by the agency including:1) the date the action was 
taken;2) the name of the agency taking the action; and 3) the title of the regulation. 
                

 

On February 18, 2016, the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology repealed 

18VAC30-20-10 et seq., and adopted 18VAC30-21-10 et seq., Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. 

 
 

Legal basis 
 

 

Please identify the state and/or federal legal authority to promulgate this proposed regulation, including: 
1) the most relevant citations to the Code of Virginia or General Assembly chapter number(s), if 
applicable; and 2) promulgating entity, i.e., agency, board, or person.  Your citation should include a 
specific provision authorizing the promulgating entity to regulate this specific subject or program, as well 
as a reference to the agency/board/person’s overall regulatory authority.   
              

 

18VAC30-20-10 et seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology & Speech-Language 

Pathology are promulgated under the general authority of Chapter 24 of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Section 54.1-2400 (6) provides the Board of Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology 

the authority to promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system: 

 

§ 54.1-2400 -General powers and duties of health regulatory boards  
The general powers and duties of health regulatory boards shall be:  

 … 

6. To promulgate regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-

6.14:1 et seq.) which are reasonable and necessary to administer effectively the 

regulatory system. Such regulations shall not conflict with the purposes and intent of this 

chapter or of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) and Chapter 25 (§ 54.1-2500 et seq.) of this 

title. … 

Authority for the Board and for licensure of professions under the Board is found in Chapter 26 

of Title 54.1 and specifically: 
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§ 54.1-2603. License required.  

A. In order to practice audiology or speech pathology, it shall be necessary to hold a valid 

license.  

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 2 of § 54.1-2601 or any Board regulation, the 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology shall license, as school speech-language 

pathologists, persons licensed by the Board of Education with an endorsement in speech-

language pathology and a master's degree in speech-language pathology. The Board of 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology shall issue licenses to such persons without 

examination, upon review of credentials and payment of an application fee in accordance with 

regulations of the Board for school speech-language pathologists.  

Persons holding such licenses as school speech-language pathologists, without examination, 

shall practice solely in public school divisions; holding a license as a school speech-language 

pathologist pursuant to this section shall not authorize such persons to practice outside the 

school setting or in any setting other than the public schools of the Commonwealth, unless such 

individuals are licensed by the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology to offer to 

the public the services defined in § 54.1-2600.  

The Board shall issue persons, holding dual licenses from the Board of Education with an 

endorsement in speech-language pathology and from the Board of Audiology and Speech-

Language Pathology as school speech-language pathologists, a license which notes the 

limitations on practice set forth in this subsection.  

Persons who hold licenses issued by the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology 

without these limitations shall be exempt from the requirements of this subsection.  

 

§ 54.1-2604. Provisional license in audiology or speech-language pathology.  

The Board may issue a provisional license to an applicant for licensure in audiology or speech-

language pathology who has met the educational and examination requirements for licensure, to 

allow for the applicant to obtain clinical experience as specified in the Board's regulations. 

However, a person practicing with a provisional license in audiology shall practice only under 

the supervision of a licensed audiologist and a person practicing with a provisional license in 

speech-language pathology shall practice only under the supervision of a licensed speech-

language pathologist in accordance with regulations established by the Board. 

 
 

Purpose  
 

 

Please explain the need for the new or amended regulation.  Describe the rationale or justification of the 
proposed regulatory action.  Describe the specific reasons the regulation is essential to protect the health, 
safety or welfare of citizens.  Discuss the goals of the proposal and the problems the proposal is intended 
to solve. 
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In order to arrange the regulations governing the practice of audiology and speech-language 

pathology in a more understandable, logical manner, the Board voted to repeal the current 

chapter and promulgated a replacement chapter.   
 

Substantively, the qualifications for licensure in audiology will not change, but applicants for 

licensure in speech-language pathology will be required to demonstrate clinical competency by 

professional credentialing through ASHA.  This regulatory action is consistent with changes 

proposed through a fast-track action relating to provisional licensure (Action 4054).  

Requirements for reactivation and reinstatement of licensure are less burdensome to encourage 

practitioners to re-enter the workforce.  Continuing education requirements are modified to 

reflect annual renewals and to eliminate the Type 1 and Type 2 categories.  Rather than 30 hours 

every two years, the Board proposes a requirement of 10 hours every year with the ability to 

transfer or credit excess hours to the next renewal year.   

 

Additionally, the grounds for unprofessional conduct are expanded to include problematic 

conduct for which the Board currently has no grounds for disciplinary action. 

Consistent with the Board’s responsibility to protect the health and safety of the public, it 

proposes additional grounds for disciplinary action for causes such as revocation, suspension or 

restriction by another regulatory board, failure to comply with laws on patient confidentiality and 

provision of records, and actions that would constitute a professional boundary violation.   

 
 

Substance 
 

 
Please briefly identify and explain the new substantive provisions, the substantive changes to existing 
sections, or both.   
              

 

As stated above, Chapter 20 will be repealed to allow a clearer, more logical reorganization of 

regulations.  In the major parts of regulations, the following changes have been adopted: 

 

General Provisions: 

• New definitions for words and terms used in revised regulations will be added, such as 

“active practice” and “ASHA”; terms no longer used will be eliminated, such as “Type 1” 

and “Type 2.” For consistency the term “client”, rather than “patient” will be used 

throughout the regulations and included in the definitions.   

 

• The requirement for posting a license will be amended to allow licensees to carry copies 

of their licenses to accommodate those who travel between facilities.  

 

• A requirement for furnishing legal proof to the Board evidencing a name change will be 

added for consistency with Board policy. 

 

• There are no changes proposed in the application or renewal fees.   

 

Requirements for Licensure 
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• General application requirements for all professions will be set out in one section.  The 

Board decided to require an attestation of having read the statutes and regulations rather 

than initiating a jurisprudence examination. 

 

• Qualifications for initial licensure are simplified into one section; both audiologists and 

speech-language pathologists will be required to obtain a professional credential 

certifying graduation from an accredited educational program, passage of the 

examination and completion of supervised clinical experience. 

 

• All requirements relating to provisional licensure, whether issued to obtain clinical 

experience for initial licensure or to practice for a period under supervision in order to 

qualify for licensure by endorsement, reactivation or reinstatement, are placed in one 

section rather than scattered throughout the chapter.  Amendments to provisional 

licensure include speech-language pathologists as authorized by legislation passed in the 

2013 General Assembly.   Two barriers to provisional licensure are eliminated. 

 

• Requirements for licensure by endorsement are modified to require less continuing 

education, allow a license in another state to be lapsed but eligible for reinstatement, and 

have one of the past three years of active practice .  Currently, an applicant can qualify by 

documentation of a current license and active practice for three of the past five years. 

 

Renewal and Continuing Competency (CE) 

 

• Proposal for a reduction in the number of required CE hours from 30 hours every two 

years to 10 hours per year; the 10 hours would have to be verifiable by a recognizable 

sponsor, educational institution or organization. 

 

• Elimination of Type 1 and Type 2 designated CE  

 

• Addition of ability to carryover up to 10 hours of CE to the next renewal period.   

 

Reactivation and Reinstatement 

 

• Reactivation of an inactive license is less burdensome because the number of CE hours 

that may be required is capped at 30 or an applicant may submit current ASHA 

certification.  If an inactive licensee has not reactivated within five years, he would be 

able to show active practice in another jurisdiction for one of the past three years or 

practice under supervision with a provisional license. 

• Reinstatement of a lapsed license is also less burdensome with requirements similar to 

those for reactivation. 

 

Standards of Practice 
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• The Board has added language on supervisory responsibilities that the practitioner is not 

prohibited from delegating to an unlicensed assistant such activities or functions as are 

nondiscretionary and do not require the exercise of professional judgment for their 

performance.  

 

• The Board has added language to address patient confidentiality, records retention, 

professional boundaries, advertising and disciplinary action taken by another professional 

regulatory agency. 

 
 

Issues  
 

 

Please identify the issues associated with the proposed regulatory action, including: 1) the primary 
advantages and disadvantages to the public, such as individual private citizens or businesses, of 
implementing the new or amended provisions; 2) the primary advantages and disadvantages to the 
agency or the Commonwealth; and 3) other pertinent matters of interest to the regulated community, 
government officials, and the public.  If there are no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth, 
please indicate.    
              

 

1) The primary advantage to the public is clearer, more explicit rules for client confidentiality 

and records, professional boundaries and delegation of tasks to unlicensed assistants.  In 

addition, greater clarity in licensure and renewal requirements will encourage compliance 

with regulations to the benefit of licensees and the clients they serve.  There are less 

burdensome requirements for persons who may want to re-enter the workforce through 

reinstatement or reactivation and for applicants for licensure by endorsement to encourage 

more practitioners who can provide professional services to clients.  There are no 

disadvantages. 

2) There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth, except the 

logical order of the revised regulation and more clarity in the rules may reduce the number of 

questions to staff and problems with non-compliance. 

3) There are no other pertinent matters. 
 

 

Requirements more restrictive than federal 
 

 

Please identify and describe any requirement of the proposal which is more restrictive than applicable 
federal requirements.  Include a rationale for the need for the more restrictive requirements. If there are 
no applicable federal requirements or no requirements that exceed applicable federal requirements, 
include a statement to that effect. 
              

 

There are no applicable federal requirements. 
 

 

Localities particularly affected 
 

 

Please identify any locality particularly affected by the proposed regulation. Locality particularly affected 
means any locality which bears any identified disproportionate material impact which would not be 
experienced by other localities.   
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There are no localities particularly affected. 

 
 

Family impact 
 

 

Please assess the impact of this regulatory action on the institution of the family and family stability 
including to what extent the regulatory action will: 1) strengthen or erode the authority and rights of 
parents in the education, nurturing, and supervision of their children; 2) encourage or discourage 
economic self-sufficiency, self-pride, and the assumption of responsibility for oneself, one’s spouse, and 
one’s children and/or elderly parents; 3) strengthen or erode the marital commitment; and 4) increase or 
decrease disposable family income. 
               

 

There is no impact on the family. 
 
 

 

Changes made since the proposed stage 
 

 

Please list all changes that made to the text of the proposed regulation and the rationale for the changes; 
explain the new requirements and what they mean rather than merely quoting the proposed text of the 
regulation. *Please put an asterisk next to any substantive changes.   

              
 

There were changes made in sections 60 and 131 to incorporate regulatory actions that became 

effective since the submission of proposed regulations on Townhall.  There were no other 

changes. 
 

 

Public comment 
 

 

Please summarize all comments received during the public comment period following the publication of 
the proposed stage, and provide the agency response.  If no comment was received, please so indicate.  
Please distinguish between comments received on Town Hall versus those made in a public hearing or 
submitted directly to the agency or board. 
               

All comments were received on Townhall. There were no comments at the public hearing held 

on December 11, 2015. 

 
Commenter  Comment  Agency response 

26 persons 
commented on 
Townhall 

All supported the proposed 
regulation in Chapter 21, especially 
the changes in the continuing 
education requirements 

The Board appreciates the comments in 
support. 

Ann Ferrell Objected to the lower fee for school 
speech-language pathologists. 

The Board considered the comment but did not 
amend.  Consistently across all health 
regulatory boards, persons who hold limited 
licenses are subject to lower fees than those 
who hold full licensure and can practice in any 
setting. 
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All changes made in this regulatory action 
 

 

Please list all changes that are being proposed and the consequences of the proposed changes.  
Describe new provisions and/or all changes to existing sections.  Explain the new requirements and what 
they mean rather than merely quoting the proposed text of the regulation 
              
 

Chapter 20 is being repealed and replaced by Chapter 21 in order to reorganize regulations in a 

more logical manner. 

 
Secti

on 
num
ber 

Proposed requirements Other regulations and 
law that apply 

Intent and likely impact of 
proposed requirements 

10 Definitions 

A. The words and terms 

"audiologist," "board," "practice of 

audiology," "practice of speech-

language pathology," "speech-language 

disorders," and "speech-language 

pathologist" when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them 

in § 54.1-2600 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. The following words when used 

in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

“Active practice” means a minimum 

of 160 hours of professional practice as 

an audiologist or speech-language 

pathologist for each 12-month period 

immediately preceding application for 

licensure. Active practice may include 

supervisory, administrative, educational, 

research or consultative activities or 

responsibilities for the delivery of such 

services. 

“ASHA” means the American 

Speech-Language-Hearing Association. 

“Client” means a patient or person 

receiving services in audiology or 

speech-language pathology. 

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of 

time spent in continuing learning 

activities.  

"School speech-language 

pathologist" means a person licensed 

pursuant to § 54.1-2603 of the Code of 

Virginia to provide speech-language 

pathology services solely in public 

school divisions.  

"Supervision" means that the audiologist 

or speech-language pathologist is 

Definitions are currently 

found in Section 10 of 

Chapter 20. 

Terms newly defined are 

active practice, ASHA, 

and client. 

 

Terms no longer defined 

in Chapter 21 are:  Type 1 

and Type 2. 

New terms in the revised 

regulations are defined for clarity 

in usage. 

 

Terms that are not defined are not 

used in the revised regulations. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2600
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2603
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responsible for the entire service being 

rendered or activity being performed, is 

available for consultation, and is 

providing regular monitoring and 

documentation of clinical activities and 

competencies of the person being 

supervised. 

20 Required licenses; posting of licenses 

A. There shall be separate licenses 

for the practices of audiology and 

speech-language pathology. It is 

prohibited for any person to practice as 

an audiologist or a speech-language 

pathologist unless the person has been 

issued the appropriate license.  

B. A licensee shall post his license 

in a place conspicuous to the public in 

each facility in which the licensee is 

employed and holds himself out to 

practice. If it is not practical to post the 

license, the licensee shall provide a copy 

of his license upon request.  

 

Subsection A is currently 

found in section 45 of 

Chapter 20 

 

Subsection B is currently 

found in section 50 of 

Chapter 20 

 

There is no new impact on 

licensees, as this section is a 

restatement of current rule. 

 

Additional language in subsection 

B allows someone to provide a 

copy of his license upon request if 

it is not practical to post his license 

in the facility where he is working.   

That change is far more reasonable 

for licensees who work in large 

health care facilities or who rotate 

among a number of work settings. 

 
 

30 Records; accuracy of information 

A. All changes of name, address of 

record or public address, if different 

from the address of record, shall be 

furnished to the board within 30 days 

after the change occurs.  

B. A licensee who has changed his 

name shall submit as legal proof to the 

board a copy of the marriage certificate, 

a certification of naturalization, or court 

order evidencing the change. A duplicate 

license shall be issued by the board upon 

receipt of such evidence and the required 

fee. 

C. All notices required by law and by 

this chapter to be mailed by the board to 

any registrant or licensee shall be validly 

served when mailed to the latest address 

of record on file with the board. 

Subsection A is currently 

subsection A of section 70 

in Chapter 20. 

 

Subsection B is a new 

requirement. 

 

Subsection C is currently 

subsection C of section 70 

in Chapter 20. 

Subsection B is current policy for 

evidence of a name change and 

issuance of a new license, but it has 

not been stated in regulation for 

this board as it is for other boards. 

40 Fees required  

Subsection A establishes the fees that 

shall be paid as applicable for licensure. 

 

Subsection B states: Fees shall be made 

payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and 

shall not be refunded once submitted 

All fees in subsection A 

are identical to current 

fees set forth in section 

80. 

 

Requirement is subsection 

B is identical to 

subsection B of section 80 

in current regulation. 

There is no new impact on 

licensees, as this section is 

identical to the current rule. 

 

50 Application requirements  

A. A person seeking licensure as an 

audiologist, a speech-language 

pathologist, or a school speech-language 

Subsection A (##1-3) are 

currently found in 

subsection A of section 

180. 
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pathologist shall submit:  

1. A completed and signed 

application;  

2. The applicable fee prescribed in 

18VAC30-21-40;  

3. Documentation as required by the 

board to determine if the applicant has 

met the qualifications for licensure;  

4. An attestation that the applicant 

has read, understands and will comply 

with the statutes and regulations 

governing the practice of audiology or 

speech-language pathology; and 

5. If licensed or certified in another 

U. S. jurisdiction, verification of the 

status of the license or certification from 

each jurisdiction in which licensure or 

certification is held. 

B. An incomplete application 

package shall be retained by the board 

for a period of one year from the date the 

application is received by the board.  If 

an application is not completed within 

the year, an applicant shall reapply and 

pay a new application fee. 

 

 

#4 is a new requirement 

for an attestation that the 

applicant is familiar with 

the laws and regulations 

governing practice 

 

#5 is a new requirement 

for verification of the 

status of licensure in 

another jurisdiction 

 

 

 

Subsection B is found in 

subsection B of section 

180, but the one-year 

period is more explicitly 

stated to begin on the date 

the application is received 

by the board.  The 

proposed regulation also 

states the current policy of 

the board to require a new 

application and fee after 

the one-year retention 

period. 

 

Other health profession boards 

either require an attestation or a 

passage of a jurisprudence 

examination.  The Board did not 

want to impose a new burden and 

cost for applicants by requiring an 

examination. 

The Board currently requires 

verification of licensure status in 

another state, but it is not 

specifically stated in regulations.  It 

is a public safety issues to ensure 

that Virginia is not licensing a 

person whose licensed has been 

suspended or revoked or for whom 

there is sufficient cause to deny 

licensure in Virginia 

 

Subsection B clarifies current 

policy for retention of applications 

and is consistent with departmental 

policies on retention of 

documentation. 

60 Qualifications for initial licensure. 

A. The board may grant an initial 

license to an applicant for licensure in 

audiology or speech-language pathology 

who:  

1. Holds a current and unrestricted 

Certificate of Clinical Competence 

issued by ASHA or certification 

issued by the American Board of 

Audiology or any other accrediting 

body recognized by the board. 

Verification of currency shall be in 

the form of a certified letter from a 

recognized accrediting body issued 

within six months prior to filing an 

application for licensure; and  

2. Has passed the qualifying 

examination from an accrediting 

body recognized by the board. 

B. The board may grant a license to an 

applicant as a school speech-language 

pathologist who holds a master's degree 

in speech-language-pathology. 

C. Any individual who holds an active, 

renewable license issued by the Virginia 

Board of Education with a valid 

endorsement in speech-language 

pathology on June 30, 2014, shall be 

The requirements in 

section 60 are currently in 

subsection A of section 

170.  However, the 

requirement for passage 

of the qualifying 

examination within three 

years preceding the date 

of applying or active 

practice for one of the 

past three years has been 

eliminated. 

 

This section is re-titled 

“Qualifications for initial 

licensure.” If an applicant 

has already been licensed 

in another jurisdiction, he 

must apply for licensure 

by endorsement.  An 

applicant for initial 

licensure would not have 

practice in another 

jurisdiction but would 

likely have passed the 

examination within the 

past 3 years.  

 

The intent is to remove any 

unnecessary barriers to licensure 

while ensuring minimal 

competency to practice. 

 

 

The amendments in subsection B 

and C were made in the final 

action to incorporate changes in 

the licensure of school speech-

language pathologists that 

became effective on 8/13/14. 
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deemed qualified to obtain a school 

speech-language pathologist license 

from the board until July 1, 2016, or the 

date of expiration of such person's 

license issued by the Virginia Board of 

Education, whichever is later. 

Subsection B is identical 

to subsection C in current 

regulations and consistent 

with § 54.1-2603 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

 

Current subsection B 

(pertaining to licensure 

for speech-language 

pathologists) is deleted 

because the Board 

proposes to require a 

certificate of clinical 

competency for applicants 

in speech-language 

pathology as well as 

audiology.  The language 

in section 60 is consistent 

with regulations for 

provisional licensure 

adopted pursuant to 

Chapter 436 of the 2013 

Acts of the Assembly. 

 

70 Provisional licensure 

A. Provisional license to qualify for 

initial licensure. An applicant may be 

issued a provisional license in order to 

obtain clinical experience required for 

certification by ASHA, the American 

Board of Audiology or any other 

accrediting body recognized by the 

board.  To obtain a provisional license in 

order to qualify for initial licensure, the 

applicant shall submit documentation 

that he:  

1. Has passed the qualifying 

examination from an accrediting 

body recognized by the board; and 

2. For provisional licensure in 

audiology, has successfully 

completed all the didactic 

coursework required for the doctoral 

degree as documented by a college 

or university whose audiology 

program is accredited by the 

Council on Academic Accreditation 

of ASHA or an equivalent 

accrediting body; or 

3. For provisional licensure in 

speech-language pathology, has 

successfully completed all the 

didactic coursework required for a 

graduate program in speech-

language pathology as documented 

Because of passage of 

Chapter 436 of the 2013 

Acts of the Assembly, the 

Board now has the 

authority to issue a 

provisional license to an 

applicant in speech-

language pathology.  

Therefore, section 70 

differs from the current 

regulation in that it is 

applicable to both 

professions, not just 

audiology.  Provisional 

licensure for speech-

language pathologists has 

already been adopted and 

submitted in Action 

4054/Stage 6703.  

 

Provisions of subsection 

A are currently found in 

subsection A of section 

171, but two barriers to a 

provisional license have 

been eliminated. 

 

Currently, an applicant for 

a provisional license to 

qualify for initial 

licensure must be 

The deletion of two requirements 

for provisional licensure will 

enable a few applicants to qualify 

who are ineligible under the current 

regulations.   

 

Applicants for licensure in speech-

language pathology who do not 

currently meet requirements for 

licensure by endorsement, 

reactivation or reinstatement will 

now be able to obtain a provisional 

license in order to verify current 

clinical competency. 
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by a college or university whose 

program is accredited by the 

Council on Academic Accreditation 

of the American Speech-Language-

Hearing Association or an 

equivalent accrediting body.  

B. Provisional license to qualify for 

endorsement or re-entry into practice. 

An applicant may be issued a 

provisional license in order to qualify for 

licensure by endorsement pursuant to 

18VAC30-21-80, reactivation of an 

inactive license pursuant to subsection C 

of 18VAC30-21-110 or reinstatement of 

a lapsed license pursuant to subsection B 

of 18VAC30-21-120.  

C. All provisional licenses shall 

expire 18 months from the date of 

issuance and may be renewed for an 

additional six months by submission of a 

renewal form and payment of a renewal 

fee. Renewal of a provisional license 

beyond 24 months shall be for good 

cause shown as determined by a 

committee of the board.  

D. The holder of a provisional 

license in audiology shall only practice 

under the supervision of a licensed 

audiologist and the holder of a 

provisional license in speech-language 

pathology shall only practice under the 

supervision of a licensed speech-

language pathologist.  The provisional 

licensee shall be responsible and 

accountable for the safe performance of 

those direct client care tasks to which he 

has been assigned. 

E. Licensed audiologists or speech-

language pathologists providing 

supervision shall: 

1. Notify the board electronically or 

in writing of the intent to provide 

supervision for a provisional 

licensee; 

2. Have an active, current license 

and at least three years of active 

practice as an audiologist or speech-

language pathologist prior to 

providing supervision; 

3. Document the frequency and 

nature of the supervision of 

provisional licensees; 

4. Be responsible and accountable 

for the assignment of clients and 

tasks based on their assessment and 

“currently enrolled in a 

doctoral program.”  

Additionally, an applicant 

must have passed the 

exam within the past 3 

years. That prohibits 

someone who did not pass 

the examination within 

the past 3 years from 

obtaining a provisional 

license  – so those 

requirements were deleted 

in the proposed 

regulations. 

 

Provisions of subsection 

B are currently found in 

subsection C of section 

160 (reinstatement) and 

subsection C of section 

185 (endorsement).  A 

provisional license for an 

audiologist seeking 

reactivation of an inactive 

license is currently not 

available. 

 

Provisions of subsection 

C are currently found in 

subsection B of section 

171. 

 

Provisions of subsection 

D are currently found in 

subsection C of section 

171. 

 

Provisions of subsection 

E are currently found in 

subsection D of section 

171 with the addition of 

#2, requiring that the 

supervisor of a 

provisional licensee have 

at least 3 years of active 

practice. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The requirement for 3 years of 

experience to supervise a 

provisional licensee is necessary to 

ensure sufficient clinical 

experience by the supervisor to 

monitor performance and be 

accountable for appropriate 

assignment of tasks and patients. 
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evaluation of the provisional 

licensee's knowledge and skills; and 

5. Monitor clinical performance and 

intervene if necessary for the safety 

and protection of the clients. 

F. The identity of a provisional 

licensee shall be disclosed to the client 

prior to treatment and shall be made a 

part of the client's file. 

 

 

 

 

Provisions of subsection F 

are currently found in 

subsection E of section 

171. 

80 Qualifications for licensure by 

endorsement. 

An applicant for licensure in 

audiology or speech-language pathology 

who has been licensed in another U. S. 

jurisdiction may apply for licensure in 

Virginia in accordance with application 

requirements in 18VAC30-20-50 and 

submission of documentation of: 

1. Ten continuing education hours 

for each year in which he has been 

licensed in the other jurisdiction, not to 

exceed 30 hours, or a current and 

unrestricted Certificate of Clinical 

Competence in the area in which he 

seeks licensure issued by ASHA or 

certification issued by the American 

Board of Audiology or any other 

accrediting body recognized by the 

board. Verification of currency shall be 

in the form of a certified letter from a 

recognized accrediting body issued 

within six months prior to filing an 

application for licensure;  

2. Passage of the qualifying 

examination from an accrediting body 

recognized by the board; 

3. Current status of licensure in 

another U.S. jurisdiction showing that 

no disciplinary action is pending or 

unresolved. The board may deny a 

request for licensure to any applicant 

who has been determined to have 

committed an act in violation of 

18VAC30-21-160; and 

      4. Evidence of active practice in 

another U. S. jurisdiction for at least one 

of the past three years or practice for six 

months with a provisional license in 

accordance with 18VAC30-21-70 and 

by receiving a recommendation for 

licensure by his supervisor. 

Requirements for 

licensure by endorsement 

in section 80 are taken 

from section 185 in 

current regulations. 

 

 

The differences are: 

#1 – Current regulations 

require documentation of 

15 hours of CE for each 

year the applicant has 

been licensed for a 

maximum of 60 hours; 

proposed regulations 

require 10 hours for each 

year for a maximum of 30 

hours.   

 

#2 – Current regulations 

permit an applicant to 

either meet the 

qualifications for initial 

licensure or provide 

evidence of active 

practice for 3 of the past 5 

years.  In the amended 

regulation, passage of the 

qualifying examination is 

required for licensure. 

 

 

 

 

#3 – Currently, 

regulations require a 

“current license” in 

another jurisdiction in the 

U.S.; proposed regulations 

allow the license to be 

lapsed but eligible for 

reinstatement and in 

another U. S. jurisdiction. 
Current regulations 

specify that the applicant 

must provide evidence 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#1 – Ten hours per year is 

consistent with the proposed 

requirement for renewal of an 

active license in Virginia. In the 

proposed regulation, the maximum 

hourly requirement would be 30 

hours versus the current 60 hours 

and would be much less 

burdensome.  An applicant may 

use a current certificate from 

ASHA or ABA to satisfy the 

continuing education requirement. 

 

#2 – The Board has determined 

that evidence of an examination is 

necessary to ensure that minimum 

competency to practice in Virginia 

can be assured.  Current 

certification from ASHA or ABA 

would provide such evidence 

because those credentialing bodies 

require graduate degrees and 

passage of an examination for 

issuance of certification.  If the 

applicant has not maintained 

current certification, he can provide 

an exam score to verify 

qualification. 

 

#3 - The proposed regulations will 

allow an applicant with a lapsed 

license in another jurisdiction to be 

licensed by endorsement without 

having to meet requirements for 

initial licensure, if the licensee is 

eligible for reinstatement. 

Current regulations restrict 

licensure by endorsement to a 

licensee of another state in the 

U.S.; proposed regulations will 
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that no disciplinary action 

has been taken or is 

pending; proposed 

regulations specify that no 

disciplinary action is 

pending or unresolved. 

 

#4 – Current regulations 

require an applicant to 

meet the qualifications for 

initial licensure or have 

active practice for 3 of the 

past 5 years.  Proposed 

regulations require active 

practice in another U. S. 

jurisdiction for at least 

one of the past three years 

or practice for six months 

with a provisional license. 

 

include U. S. territories. 

An applicant may have had a 

previous disciplinary action for a 

minor violation that would not 

constitute grounds for denial in 

Virginia (i.e., failure to obtain 

required CE).  The proposed 

regulation is less restrictive and 

more reasonable. 

 

#4 – Evidence of active practice is 

required by it would be one of the 

past 3 years rather than 3 of the 

past 5 years.  Additionally, the 

Board would be able to issue a 

provisional license for 6 months of 

practice under supervision if the 

applicant does not have the 

requisite year of active practice 

90  Renewal requirements 

A. A person who desires to renew 

his license shall, not later than December 

31 of each year, submit the renewal 

notice and applicable renewal fee. A 

licensee who fails to renew his license 

by the expiration date shall have a lapsed 

license, and practice with a lapsed 

license may constitute grounds for 

disciplinary action by the board.  

B. A person who fails to renew his 

license by the expiration date may renew 

at any time within one year of expiration 

by submission of a renewal notice, the 

renewal fee and late fee, and statement 

of compliance with continuing education 

requirements. 

Provisions of section 100 

are identical to those 

currently found in section 

150. 

 

100 Continuing education requirements 

for renewal of an active license 

A. In order to renew an active 

license, a licensee shall complete at least 

10 contact hours of continuing education 

prior to December 31 of each year. Up to 

10 contact hours of continuing education 

in excess of the number required for 

renewal may be transferred or credited 

to the next renewal year. 

B. Continuing learning activities 

shall be activities, programs or courses 

related to speech-language pathology or 

audiology, depending on the license 

held, and offered or approved  by one of 

the following accredited sponsors or 

organizations sanctioned by the 

profession:  

Continuing education 

(CE) requirements for 

renewal of licensure are 

currently found in section 

300. 

 

Currently, regulations 

require 30 hours within 2 

years preceding licensure; 

proposed regulations will 

require 10 hours in the 

year preceding annual 

renewal and eliminate 

“Type 2 hours.”  A 

licensee will be able to 

carry over up to 10 hours 

and have them credited to 

the next year. 

When renewal was changed from 

biennial to annual in 2004, the 

section on CE was not amended, so 

the requirement remained 30 hours 

within 2 years preceding renewal.  

The difference between the CE 

requirement and the renewal of 

license has been confusing, so the 

annual time frame has been made 

consistent. 

 

Maintenance of ASHA certification 

requires 30 hours of verifiable, 

approved continuing education 

every 3 years; so the Board 

believes it is less burdensome to 

licensees to require 10 hours per 

year for annual renewal.  The 
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1. The Speech-Language Hearing 

Association of Virginia or similar state 

speech-language hearing association of 

another state;  

2. The American Academy of 

Audiology;  

3. The American Speech-Language 

Hearing Association;  

4. The Accreditation Council on 

Continuing Medical Education of the 

American Medical Association offering 

Category I continuing medical 

education; 

5. Local, state or federal 

government agencies;  

6. Colleges and universities;  

7. International Association of 

Continuing Education and Training; or  

8. Health care organizations 

accredited by the Joint Commission on 

Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations (JCAHO).  

C. If the licensee is dually licensed 

by this board as an audiologist and 

speech-language pathologist, a total of 

no more than 15 continuing learning 

hours are required for renewal of both 

licenses with a minimum of 7.5 contact 

hours in each profession.  

D. A licensee shall be exempt from 

the continuing competency requirements 

for the first renewal following the date 

of initial licensure in Virginia under 

18VAC30-20-60.  

E. The licensee shall retain all 

continuing education documentation for 

a period of three years following the 

renewal of an active license. 

Documentation from the sponsor or 

organization shall include the title of the 

course, the name of the sponsoring 

organization, the date of the course and 

the number of hours credited.  

F. The board may grant an 

extension of the deadline for continuing 

competency requirements, for up to one 

year, for good cause shown upon a 

written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date of December 31st.  

G. The board may grant an 

exemption for all or part of the 

requirements for circumstances beyond 

the control of the licensee, such as 

temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters. 

 

Subsection B, which 

listed the approved 

sponsors or providers is 

almost identical to the 

listing in section 300 of 

current regulations; in 

proposed regulations, a 

sponsor approved by the 

Board has been 

eliminated. 

 

 

Subsection C is similar to 

subsection B of section 

300 in current regulations 

in that there is credit 

allowed for someone who 

is dually licensed. Rather 

than 10 hours for each 

profession, the licensee is 

required to obtain 15 

hours with a minimum of 

half the hours directed to 

each profession. 

 

Subsection D is similar to 

subsection C in current 

regulations, but the 

incorrect reference to 

biennial renewal is 

eliminated. 

 

Subsection E is similar to 

subsection D in current 

regulations, but the 

retention period is 

changed from 4 years to 3 

years.  Additionally, 

“supporting 

documentation” is further 

specified so licensees will 

know what information 

must be retained in the 

event they are audited. 

 

Subsection F is similar to 

subsection G in current 

regulations. 

 

Subsection G is taken 

from subsection H in 

current regulation in 

section 300. 

 

Board has also eliminated credit for 

Type 2 hours, which are not 

offered by an approved sponsor or 

provider and are not verifiable. To 

allow for credit for lengthy and in-

depth CE coursework, a licensee 

will be allowed to carry-over up to 

10 hours to the next renewal cycle. 

 

The elimination of board-approved 

sponsors will not have an impact 

because there is a wide range of CE 

providers or sponsors approved by 

regulation in subsection B. 
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H. The board shall periodically 

conduct an audit for compliance with 

continuing education 

requirements.  Licensees selected for an 

audit conducted by the board shall 

complete the Continued Education 

Activity and Assessment Form and 

provide all supporting documentation 

within 30 days of receiving notification 

of the audit.  

     I. Failure to comply with these 

requirements may subject the licensee to 

disciplinary action by the board. 

Subsection H is similar to 

subsection E in current 

regulations. 

 

Subsection I is identical to 

subsection F in current 

regulations. 

110 Inactive licensure; reactivation for 

audiologist and speech-language 

pathologists. 

A. speech-language pathologist or 

audiologist who holds a current, 

unrestricted license in Virginia may, 

upon a request on the renewal 

application and submission of the 

required fee, be issued an inactive 

license. The holder of an inactive license 

shall not be required to maintain 

continuing competency requirements 

and shall not be entitled to perform any 

act requiring a license to practice 

speech-language pathology or audiology 

in Virginia. 

B. A licensee whose license has 

been inactive and who requests 

reactivation of an active license shall file 

an application, pay the difference 

between the inactive and active renewal 

fees for the current year, and provide 

documentation of current ASHA 

certification or of having completed 10 

continued competency hours equal to the 

requirement for the number of years in 

which the license has been inactive, not 

to exceed 30 contact hours.  

C. A licensee who does not 

reactivate within five years shall meet 

the requirements of subsection B of this 

section and shall either: 

1. Meet the requirements for initial 

licensure as prescribed by 

18VAC30-21-60; or 

2. Provide documentation of a 

current license in another 

jurisdiction in the United States and 

evidence of active practice for at 

least one of the past three years or 

practice in accordance with 

18VAC30-21-70 with a provisional 

 

 

 

Rules for an inactive 

license in subsection A 

are identical to section 

310 in current regulations. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Subsection B is the same 

as subsection A of section 

320 in current rules, 

except: 1) the number of 

CE hours is capped at 30 

in the proposed 

regulation, and it is equal 

to the number of years, 

not to exceed four years 

in the current regulation; 

and 2) an applicant for 

reactivation may submit 

documentation of current 

ASHA certification as 

evidence of continued 

competency. 

 

Rules in subsection C for 

reactivation of a license 

inactive for five or more 

years are new in proposed 

regulation. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

If a licensee has maintained ASHA 

certification, it is sufficient 

evidence that he has completed at 

least 10 hours of CE each year in 

which his license has been inactive.  

If he does not have ASHA 

certification, he has to complete a 

maximum of 30 hours of CE. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Whether a licensee has taken an 

inactive status or allowed his 

license to lapse, he was not 

authorized to practice in Virginia.  

After five years, the Board needs 

some additional evidence of 

competency to return to active 

practice.  If the licensee has 

continued to practice in another 

state for at least 1 or the 3 years, 

that can suffice as evidence of 

continued competency or he can 

work under a provisional license 

for 6 months. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC30-21-60
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC30-21-70
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license for six months and submit a 

recommendation for licensure from 

his supervisor.  

D. If the licensee holds licensure in any 

other state or jurisdiction, he shall 

provide evidence that no disciplinary 

action is pending or unresolved. The 

board may deny a request for 

reactivation to any licensee who has 

been determined to have committed an 

act in violation of 18VAC30-21-160. 

 

 

 

Subsection D is similar to 

subsection B in section 

320 in current regulations. 

It adds a requirement that 

the applicant provide 

evidence that no action is 

pending or unresolved, if 

he holds licensure in 

another state. 

 

 

 

 

Subsection D is necessary to ensure 

that the Board does not re-license 

an individual who has a 

disciplinary history that warrants 

denial. 

 

 

120 Reinstatement of a lapsed license for 

audiologists or speech 

A. When a license has not been 

renewed within one year of the 

expiration date, a person may apply to 

reinstate his license by submission of a 

reinstatement application, payment of 

the reinstatement fee, and submission of 

documentation of current ASHA 

certification or at least 10 continuing 

education hours for each year the license 

has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 

contact hours, obtained during the time 

the license in Virginia was lapsed.  

B. A licensee who does not reinstate 

within five years shall meet the 

requirements of subsection A of this 

section and shall either: 

1. Reinstate by meeting the 

requirements for initial licensure as 

prescribed by 18VAC30-21-60; or 

2. Provide documentation of a 

current license in another U. S. 

jurisdiction and evidence of active 

practice for at least one of the past 

three years or practice in 

accordance with 18VAC30-21-70 

with a provisional license for six 

months and submit a 

recommendation for licensure from 

his supervisor.  

C. If the licensee holds licensure in 

any other state or jurisdiction, he shall 

provide evidence that no disciplinary 

action is pending or unresolved. The 

board may deny a request for 

reinstatement to any licensee who has 

been determined to have committed an 

act in violation of 18VAC30-21-160. 

 

 

 

 

Rules for reinstatement of 

a lapsed license in 

subsection A are identical 

to section 160 in current 

regulations; except the CE 

requirement is 10 hours 

for each year the license 

was lapsed, with a 

maximum of 30 hours, 

rather than 15 hours with 

a maximum of 60 hours.  

Additionally, the 

applicant may use current 

ASHA certification as 

evidence of competency. 

 

Subsection B is similar to 

current rules and policy 

for reinstatement of a 

license lapsed five or 

more years.  However, the 

current requirement is 

evidence of practice for 3 

of the past 5 years.  In 

current regulations, only 

an audiology applicant 

could qualify for a 

provisional license to 

practice for 6 months 

under supervision. 
 
Subsection C is similar to 

subsection C of section 

160 in current rules, but 

an applicant may not have 

disciplinary action that is 

“pending or unresolved.”  

Current regulations say an 

action may not have been 

“taken.”  

 
 
The intent of the proposed rules is 

to make reinstatement of a lapsed 

license less burdensome, while 

continuing to protect the public if a 

licensee has been out of practice 

for five or more years. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC30-20-280
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+reg+18VAC30-21-70
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130 Reactivation or reinstatement of a 

school speech-language pathologist 

A. A school speech-language 

pathologist whose license has been 

inactive and who requests reactivation of 

an active license shall file an application 

and pay the difference between the 

inactive and active renewal fees for the 

current year.  A school speech-language 

pathologist whose license has lapsed and 

who requests reinstatement shall file an 

application and pay the reinstatement fee 

as set forth in 18VAC30-20-40. 

B. The board may reactivate or 

reinstate licensure as a school speech-

language pathologist to an applicant 

who: 

1. Holds a master's degree in 

speech-language-pathology; and 

2. Holds a current endorsement in 

speech-language pathology from the 

Virginia Department of Education.  

C. The board may deny a request for 

reactivation or reinstatement to any 

licensee who has been determined to 

have committed an act in violation of 

18VAC30-21-160. 

 

 

 

This is a new section in 

regulation.  The Code 

specifies the 

qualifications for 

licensure as a school 

speech-language 

pathologist, so licensure 

by any method must be 

consistent.   

 

 

The Board has authority 

to deny a license to 

anyone who is found in 

violation of rules for 

unprofessional conduct. 

 
 
The intent is to specify a pathway 

for reactivation or reinstatement of 

a school speech-language 

pathology license. 

131 Performance of flexible endoscopic 

evaluation of swallowing 

Section 131 is dentical to 

section 161 in the 

current regulation 

which became effective 

on 10/7/15. 

Section 131 was added to 

incorporate a regulatory action 

that became effective after the 

submission of this proposed 

regulation on Townhall. 

140 Supervision of unlicensed assistants 

A. If a licensed audiologist and 

speech-language pathologist has 

unlicensed assistants, he shall document 

supervision of them, shall be held fully 

responsible for their performance and 

activities, and shall ensure that they 

perform only those activities which do 

not constitute the practice of audiology 

or speech-language pathology and which 

are commensurate with their level of 

training. 

B. A licensee may delegate to an 

unlicensed assistant such activities or 

functions that are non-discretionary and 

do not require the exercise of 

professional judgment for their 

performance.  

C. The identity of the unlicensed 

assistant shall be disclosed to the client 

prior to treatment and shall be made a 

 

Subsection A on 

supervision of unlicensed 

assistants is identical to 

subsection A of section 

240 in current regulations, 

except the proposed 

regulation notes that it is 

only applicable to 

licensees who supervise 

assistants. 

 

Subsection B is new in 

the proposed regulations. 

 

 

 

 

Subsection C is identical 

to subsection B of section 

240 in current regulations. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Board frequently has questions 

about what may be delegated to an 

unlicensed assistant.  It does not 

believe regulations should attempt 

to state a laundry list of duties and 

tasks, but it does need to specify 

the types of activities and functions 

that may be appropriately 

delegated.  Language in subsection 

B is identical to provisions in other 
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part of the client's file.   health professional regulations on 

delegation (See § 54.1-2901 #6). 

150 Prohibited conduct. 

A. No person unless otherwise licensed 

to do so, shall prepare, order, dispense, 

alter or repair hearing aids or parts of or 

attachments to hearing aids for 

consideration. However, audiologists 

licensed under this chapter may make 

earmold impressions and prepare and 

alter earmolds for clinical use and 

research.  

B. No person licensed as a school 

speech-language pathologist shall 

conduct the practice of speech-language 

pathology outside the scope of the public 

school setting.  

 

The prohibited conduct 

set out in section 150 is 

identical to language in 

section 230 of current 

regulations. 

 

160 Unprofessional conduct. 

The board may refuse to issue a 

license to any applicant, suspend a 

license for a stated period of time or 

indefinitely, reprimand a licensee or 

place his license on probation with such 

terms and conditions and for such time 

as it may designate, impose a monetary 

penalty, or revoke a license for any of 

the following:  

1. Guarantee of the results of any 

speech, voice, language, or hearing 

consultative or therapeutic procedure or 

exploitation of clients by accepting them 

for treatment when benefit cannot 

reasonably be expected to occur, or by 

continuing treatment unnecessarily;  

2. Diagnosis or treatment of speech, 

voice, language, and hearing disorders 

solely by written correspondence, 

provided this shall not preclude:  

a. Follow-up by written 

correspondence or electronic 

communication concerning 

individuals previously seen; or  

b. Providing clients with general 

information of an educational 

nature;  

3. Failure to comply with provisions of 

§ 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia 

related to the confidentiality and 

disclosure of client records or related to 

provision of client records to another 

practitioner or to the client or his 

personal representative;  

4. Failure to properly manage and keep 

timely, accurate, legible and complete 

client records, to include the following: 

 

Provisions on 

unprofessional conduct 

are similar to those in 

section 280 of current 

regulations, with a few 

additions: 

 

 

 

#1 is taken from ## 1 and 

4 in current regulation. 

 

 

 

 

 

#2 is identical to #2 in 

current regulation. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#3 is similar to provisions 

in current #3 in section 

280, but is more explicit 

about patient records by 

citing § 32.1-127.1:03. 

 

 

#4 is new language. 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Failure to comply with disclosure 

requirements for patient records is 

currently not a citable violation.  

Practitioners licensed by this board 

may be cited for a violation of law 

governing the practice but 

adherence to law on client records 

is not specified as unprofessional 

conduct. 

Likewise, there are currently no 

rules for maintenance of 

patient/client records, so 

practitioners are uncertain about 

their responsibilities.  The 

proposed rules are identical to 

those for professions licensed 
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 a. For licensees who are employed by a 

health care institution, school system or 

other entity, in which the individual 

practitioner does not own or maintain his 

own records, failure to maintain client 

records in accordance with the policies 

and procedures of the employing entity; 

or  

b. For licensees who are self-employed 

or employed by an entity in which the 

individual practitioner does own and is 

responsible for client records, failure to 

maintain a client record for a minimum 

of six years following the last client 

encounter with the following exceptions: 

(1) For records of a minor child, the 

minimum time is six years from the 

last client encounter or until the 

child reaches the age of 18 or 

becomes emancipated, whichever is 

longer; or 

(2) Records that have previously 

been transferred to another 

practitioner or health care provider 

or provided to the client or his 

personal representative as 

documented in a record or database 

maintained for a minimum of six 

years; 

5. Engaging or attempting to engage 

in a relationship with a client that 

constitutes a professional boundary 

violation in which the practitioner uses 

his professional position to take 

advantage of the vulnerability of a client 

or his family, including but not limited 

to sexual misconduct with a client or a 

member of his family or other conduct 

that results or could result in personal 

gain at the expense of the client;  

6. Incompetence or negligence in 

the practice of the profession;  

7. Failure to comply with applicable 

state and federal statutes or regulations 

specifying the consultations and 

examinations required prior to the fitting 

of a new or replacement prosthetic aid 

for any communicatively impaired 

person;  

8. Failure to refer a client to an 

appropriate health care practitioner when 

there is evidence of an impairment for 

which assessment, evaluation, care or 

treatment might be necessary;  

9. Failure to supervise persons who 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#5 Provisions on 

professional boundaries 

are new in proposed 

regulations.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

## 6 through 11 are found 

in current regulations in 

section 280 as ## 5 

through 10 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

under the Board of Medicine.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#5 – While the Board does not 

often encounter professional 

boundary issues with these 

professions, there should be 

provisions that would allow a 

citable violation if the facts of a 

case warrant disciplinary action.  

The language adopted is similar to 

provisions in regulations for 

dentistry, nursing and other 

professions. 
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assist them in the practice of speech-

language pathology and audiology as 

well as failure to disclose the use and 

identity of unlicensed assistants;  

10. Conviction of a felony or a 

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude;  

11. Violating or cooperating with 

others in violating any of the provisions 

of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 24 (§ 

54.1-2400 et seq.), 26 (§ 54.1-2600 et 

seq.) of the Code of Virginia or 

regulations of the board;  

12. Publishing or causing to be 

published in any manner an 

advertisement relating to his 

professional practice which is false, 

deceptive or misleading;  

13. Inability to practice with skill 

and safety;  

14. Fraud, deceit or 

misrepresentation in the provision of 

documentation or information to the 

board or in the practice of audiology or 

speech-language pathology;  

15. Aiding and abetting unlicensed 

activity; or 

16. Revocation, suspension, restriction 

or any other discipline of a license or 

certificate to practice or surrender of 

license or certificate while investigation 

or administrative proceedings are 

pending in another regulatory agency in 

Virginia, another U. S. jurisdiction or a 

foreign jurisdiction. 

 

 

 

 

 

#11 is general language 

used by other boards to 

reference Code sections 

applicable to health 

professions and to these 

licensees in particular. 

 

#12, relating specifically 

to advertisement is new. 

 

 

 

#13 is identical to #12 in 

current section 280. 

#14 is a combination of 

##13 and 14 in current 

regulation, but is more 

specific about 

misrepresentation of one’s 

professional credentials to 

include submission of 

applications or 

supervisory forms. 

 

#15 is identical to #15 in 

current section 280. 

#16 is similar to #16 in 

current section 280, 

except another regulatory 

agency is included. 

 

 

 

 

While ##11 and 12 are new for this 

chapter, they are commonly cited 

as unprofessional conduct in 

regulations for other professions.  

Currently, the Board has a 

prohibition on “making material 

misrepresentation,” but nothing 

that specifically addresses false, 

misleading or deceptive 

advertising. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In #16, another regulatory agency 

was included because the Board 

recently was notified of the 

revocation of a hearing aid license 

and could not specifically use that 

revocation to discipline the license 

of the audiologist.  A similar 

situation could arise in which a 

teaching license of a speech-

language pathologist could be 

revoked for cause by the 

Department of Education, and the 

Board would need to cite that 

action to revoke the practitioner 

license. 

170 Criteria for delegation to an agency 

subordinate. 

A. Decision to delegate. In 

accordance with § 54.1-2400 (10) of the 

Code of Virginia, the board may 

delegate an informal fact-finding 

proceeding to an agency subordinate 

upon determination that probable cause 

exists that a practitioner may be subject 

to a disciplinary action.  

B. Criteria for delegation. Cases that 

may not be delegated to an agency 

subordinate include, but are not limited 

to, those that involve:  

1. Intentional or negligent conduct 

that causes or is likely to cause injury to 

a patient;  

2. Mandatory suspension resulting 

from action by another jurisdiction or a 

 

 

All of section 170 is 

identical to section 290 in 

current regulations. 

 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-100
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2400
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2400
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+54.1-2400
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felony conviction;  

3. Impairment with an inability to 

practice with skill and safety;  

4. Sexual misconduct;  

5. Unauthorized practice.  

C. Criteria for an agency 

subordinate.  

1. An agency subordinate 

authorized by the board to conduct an 

informal fact-finding proceeding may 

include board members and professional 

staff or other persons deemed 

knowledgeable by virtue of their training 

and experience in administrative 

proceedings involving the regulation and 

discipline of health professionals.  

2. The executive director shall 

maintain a list of appropriately qualified 

persons to whom an informal fact-

finding proceeding may be delegated.  

3. The board may delegate to the 

executive director the selection of the 

agency subordinate who is deemed 

appropriately qualified to conduct a 

proceeding based on the qualifications of 

the subordinate and the type of case 

being heard.  

 

 


